Give Now Link

Current Size: 100%

College of Engineering and Architecture

Howard University’s College of Engineering and Architecture continues to play a vital role in producing our nation’s top engineers and architects. CEA is composed of  engineering, computer sciences, architecture and design.



To serve our students by providing learning environments and curricula which foster their ability to formulate and solve problems, manage complexity and uncertainty.

To develop sensitivities to interpersonal relations.

To support the acquisition of strong technical competencies.

To contribute to the solution of national and global problems through research, teaching and learning.


Global Education

CEA students are able to design systems within environmental, social, and political constraints, and can understand the global impact of engineering solutions in a specific framework. We endeavor for all CEA engineering students to learn to work in global environments and to understand global aspects of engineering. As a result, the college must continue to offer global education programs and research opportunities that lend to a global context.

  • Travel
  • Fellowships
  • Global Education Programs
  • Student Research


Innovation & Entrepreneurship

The College of Engineering and Architecture is committed to preparing students to address society's grand challenges, and to prepare students to be leaders and innovators in the 21st century global workforce. To that end, the need for a critical pipeline of skilled engineers capable of growing our economy, developing clean and sustainable energy solutions, and nurturing entrepreneurship is critical.

  • Howard West
  • Bison STEM Scholars Program (BSSP)
  • HowU Innovate Center
  • Student Global Experience Projects
  • Research
  • Incubator Projects
  • Hackathons


Giving Opportunities

Through generous contributions and participation and gifts, the Annual Fund is unrestricted and pay for need-based financial aid grants to enroll the brightest students, programs that encourage students to apply classroom learning to real-world problems, a world-class faculty committed to student mentoring and groundbreaking research, and much more!

  • Student Scholarships
  • Annual Fund
  • Endowed Chair
  • Endowed Professorship
  • Research
  • Naming Opportunities
  • Global Education
  • Innovation & Entreprenuership
  • Capital Improvement
  • Summer Enrichment Programs
  • K-12 Outreach Programs
  • Support Student Learning & Experience (i.e. Student Organ. Design Competition, Capstone Projects)


Key Statistics and Awards

  • 10:1 student faculty ratio
  • 38% women (national average 19%)
  • 65 countries represented in student body
  • Class of 2015 (May Graduates) — 67 engineers, 23 architects, 8 computer scientists
  • 192 first-time-in-college students in Fall 2014, the highest number in recent years
  • 6 summer programs for middle and high school students in Summer 2015
  • 3 NSF Graduate Research Fellowship recipients (2014, 2015)
    • Corine Jackman, May 2013 Graduate, Chemical Engineering
    • Daril Brown, May 2014 Graduate, Mechanical Engineering
    • Jeremy Blackstone, May 2014 graduate, Computer Science
  • Mohamed Bouzaghrane, May 2015 Graduate, Civil Engineering
  • 2015-2016 Tau Beta Pi Fellowship Winner
  • 2015 Men's Swimming MVP; Highest GPA Award (4 time recipient); Athletic Director's Award Recipient –
  • Accepted into the 10 top graduate programs with full fellowships
  • 13 CEACS student-athletes named to MEAC Commissioner's 2015 All-Academic Team
  • Ebelechukwu Nwafor, Computer Science Graduate Student - selected to participate in highly-competitive 2015 Intelligence Community Centers for Academic Excellence (ICCAE) Summer Seminar
  • Adria Peterkins, sophomore, Chemical Engineering was part of the interdisciplinary team led by Dr. Anna Allen (Biology Department, Howard University) to the DC Public Health Challenge competition. The Howard team won the Inter-Professional team prize.
  • Edward D. Dunson, Jr., Chair of the Department of Architecture appointed by President Barack Obama to the U.S. Commission of Fine Arts
  • Lorraine Fleming, Ph.D., PE, Professor of Civil Engineering and Interim Dean awarded by President Obama the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring (PAESMEM)
  • Received Champion Award from NSBE DC Professional Chapter for advancing the participation of Black students in engineering
  • Kimberly Jones, Ph.D., Professor & Chair, Civil Engineering awarded 2015 HU ADVANCE-IT Researcher of the Year
  • Dr. Preethi Chandran (Chemical Engineering) won the Junior Faculty Award in Physical Sciences and Engineering at the HU Research Festival, April, 2015.
  • National Organization for Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers (NOBCChE) instituted an award to honor Dr. Cannon (Chemical Engineering); Joseph N. Cannon Award in Chemical Engineering to be granted to a Chemical Engineering Professional who has demonstrated excellence in the field.
  • Dr. Ahmed Rubaai (Electrical Engineering) has been elevated to the status of IEEE Fellow.
  • 3 Faculty Fulbright Scholars
    • Dr. John Tharakan
    • Dr. John Trimble
    • Dr. Legand Burge

Division of Development & Alumni Relations
Howard University
1851 9th Street NW, 3rd Floor
Washington, DC 20001